Information on the new EU Medical Device Regulation 2017/745 (MDR)

The following contents have been created by pritidenta GmbH with the greatest possible care.
We do not assume any warranty for the topicality, correctness and completeness of the contents provided on this website and exclude any liability for damages caused by the use of the data provided or by the use of incorrect or incomplete information, unless there is evidence of willful misconduct or serious negligence on our part.


What is the MDR?

The MDR (Medical Device Regulation) is the new European medical device regulation. It entered into force on May 25, 2017, and its date of application is mandatory as of May 26, 2021. The regulation forms the new EU legal framework for medical devices and replaces the previous Medical Device Directive (MDD (93/42/EEC)).

The MDR defines extended obligations for all economic operators (including manufacturers and distributors) who are part of the supply chain of a medical device. Compliance with these requirements is a prerequisite for placing the medical devices on the Europe market.

In comparison to the MDD, the MDR as a European regulation does not have to be implemented into national law first. It will therefore apply directly in Germany from May 26, 2021.

 

What are the objectives of the MDR?

The MDR is intended to


Implementation deadlines

Important note: All products placed on the market under the MDD by May 26, 2024 may be continued to be distributed until May 27, 2025 ("sell-off clause").
► Distributors may sell MDD-compliant products that have already been placed on the market for the first time until May 27, 2025. Products that have already been supplied to end users (e.g. dental laboratories) by the end of this transitional period can be used after this date.

MDR: What's new?

Will pritidenta's products continue to be available as of May 2021?

pritidenta has renewed its certificates under the MDD in 2019. They are valid until January 04, 2024, so all certified products may be placed on the market by us until that date. After that, the provided products that are still in your warehouses at that time may be sold until May 27, 2025.

How does pritidenta as a manufacturer ensure compliance with the MDR?

pritidenta is in the process of adapting its quality management system and technical documentation to meet the requirements of the MDR and has provided the necessary personnel and financial resources for this purpose. We will complete the certification of our products according to MDR on time, so that the delivery of our products is ensured at all times.

Our Notified body, mdc medical certification GmbH, has already received the official designation under Regulation (EU) 2017/745 (MDR) on April 25, 2020 and therefore fully complies with the requirements of the MDR.

What does the MDR require from you as a distributor distributor obligations)?

If you are a customer of pritidenta and sell our products, you always assume the role of a distributor. Under the MDR new obligations will arise for you, about which we would like to inform you.

The following obligations apply to you as long as the product is in your area of responsibility. If you have reason to believe that a product does not meet the requirements of the MDR, you are not allowed to make this product available on the market.

Examination of the product and the documents before making them available on the market

These inspection obligations can be covered by a sample inspection.

Ensuring the storage and transport conditions

Participation in market surveillance

Ensuring traceability

What information does pritidenta provide relating to the MDR?

You can request or download the following information:

Where can you find more information?


Any questions?

If you need help or more information - we will be pleased to help you. Just send your questions to quality[at]pritidenta.com - we will contact you as soon as possible.

Regulation

The MDR is an EU regulation. EU regulations apply directly in the
member states of the EU and do not first have to be transposed into national law.
They are binding in all their parts. Adjustments by individual member states are generally not possible.

However, regulations can also contain individual articles that permit adaptations to national law.
In Germany, the Medical Device Law Implementation Act (MPDG) serves to implement and complement the MDR.

Directive

The MDD is an EU directive. EU directives are not directly effective in European law, but must
first be converted into national law by the EU member states. In Germany, for example, the
MDD was implemented by the Medical Devices Act (MPG).

Economic operator

The term "economic operator" was newly added to the MDR. Economic operators are
entities within the supply chain of a medical device. The MDR recognizes the following
economic operators:

  •  Manufacturer
  •  Authorized representative
  •  Importer
  •  Distributor
  •  Distributor of systems or procedure packs

The MDR defines certain responsibilities and obligations for each economic operator.
The main obligations for manufacturers are regulated in Artikel 10 der MDR of the MDR. Artikel 14 MDR MDR defines the general obligations for distributors.

Placing on the market

According to the MDR, the first time a product is made available (i.e., supplied against payment or free of charge for distribution, consumption or use in the course of a commercial activity) on the EU market.

Example: A European manufacturer sells his product to a European distributor for the first time. The manufacturer thereby places the product on the market and at the same time makes it available. When the distributor resells the product, he makes it available.

Manufacturer

A manufacturer markets a product under his name or brand. It makes no difference whether he manufactures it himself or has it manufactured.

Distributor

A distributor makes a product available on the market after it has been placed on the market by the manufacturer oder Importeur in Verkehr or importer. The general obligations of distributors are regulated in Artikel 14 of the MDR.

EUDAMED (European Database on Medical Devices)

The European Database on Medical Devices is the IT-system developed by the European Commission to implement Regulation (EU) 2017/745 on medical devices and Regulation (EU) 2017/746 on in vitro diagnostic medical devices. EUDAMED is intended to improve the transparency and coordination of information on medical devices available in the EU market.

The system is intended to function as a registration system, a cooperation system, a reporting system, a dissemination system (partially accessible to the public) and to be interoperable.

It consists of 6 modules (1. Actor registration, 2. Unique Device Identification (UDI), 3. Certificate, 4. Clinical investigation, 5. Vigilance, 6. Market surveillance), of which only the Actor registration has been activated so far (since December 01, 2020).

Manufacturers, importers and authorized representatives have to register in EUDAMED according to MDR. No registration is foreseen for distributors.

Technical Documentation

The Technical documentation for medical devices includes all documents that manufacturers must provide in order to have their medical devices subjected to a conformity assessment and to be allowed to place medical devices on the market. The structure and content are specified in detail in the MDR.

Labeling

Written, printed, or graphically represented information placed either on the product itself or on the packaging of each unit or on the packaging of multiple products.

UDI („Unique Device Identification“):

The UDI is a globally unique product identification number for medical devices. It must be applied to the product or its packaging in machine-readable form (e.g. barcode) and in plain text.

pritidenta already applies the UDI to the labels of its packaging and thus fulfills the new MDR requirements.

Example of an UDI on pritidenta's packaging

Classification

Medical devices in Europe are classified into 4 different risk classes (I, IIa, IIb, III) based on their intended purpose. The classification rules are defined in Annex VIII of the MDR.

Notified body

Notified bodies in the EU are government-appointed and government-monitored private auditing and certification bodies that act on behalf of manufacturers to accompany and monitor their conformity assessment for their products. In order to be able to operate under the MDR, the Notified Bodies for medical devices must pass an extensive inspection procedure before they are "re-designated".

Incident

An incident according to the MDR means a malfunction or deterioration in the characteristics or performance of a device already made available on the market, including use-errors due to ergonomic features, as well as an inadequacy of the information provided by the manufacturer or an undesirable side-effect.

Symbol „MD“

REF 292 Rev 000

Informationen zur neuen EU Medizinprodukteverordnung 2017/745 (MDR)

Die folgenden Inhalte wurden von der pritidenta GmbH mit der größtmöglichen Sorgfalt erstellt.
Wir übernehmen keine Gewährleistung für die Aktualität, Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der auf dieser Webseite zur Verfügung gestellten Inhalte und schließen jegliche Haftung für Schäden aus, die durch die Nutzung der zur Verfügung gestellten Daten oder durch die Nutzung fehlerhafter oder unvollständiger Informationen verursacht wurde, sofern nicht unsererseits nachweislich ein vorsätzliches oder grob fahrlässiges Fehlverhalten vorliegt.


Was ist die MDR?

Die MDR (Medical Device Regulation) ist die neue europäische Medizinprodukte-Verordnung. Sie ist am 25. Mai 2017 in Kraft getreten und ab dem 26. Mai 2021 verpflichtend anzuwenden. Die Verordnung bildet den neuen EU-Rechtsrahmen für Medizinprodukte und löst die bisherige Medizinprodukte-Richtline MDD (Medical Device Directive (93/42/EWG)) ab.

Die MDR definiert erweiterte Pflichten für alle Wirtschaftsakteure (u.a. Hersteller und Händler), die Teil der Lieferkette eines Medizinprodukts sind. Die Erfüllung dieser Anforderungen ist die Voraussetzung um Medizinprodukte in Europa verkaufen zu dürfen.

Im Unterschied zur MDD muss die MDR als europäische Verordnung nicht erst in nationales Recht umgesetzt werden. Sie gilt daher ab dem 26. Mai 2021 unmittelbar in Deutschland.

 

Welche Ziele hat die MDR?

Die MDR soll


Umsetzungsfristen

Wichtiger Hinweis: Alle Produkte, die bis zum 26. Mai 2024 unter der MDD in den Verkehr gebracht, dürfen bis zum 27. Mai 2025 weiterverkauft werden („Abverkaufsregel“).
► Händler dürfen MDD konforme Produkte, die bereits erstmalig in Verkehr gebracht wurden, längstens bis 27. Mai 2025 verkaufen. Produkte, die bis zum Ende dieser Übergangsfrist bereits erstmalig an Endnutzer (z.B. zahntechnische Labore) abgegeben wurden können dagegen von ihnen auch nach diesem Zeitpunkt weiter genutzt werden.

MDR: Was ist neu?

Werden die Produkte von pritidenta ab Mai 2021 weiter geliefert?

pritidenta hat ihre Zertifikate unter der MDD im Jahr 2019 erneuert. Sie gelten bis zum 04. Januar 2024. Alle zertifizierten Produkte dürfen daher bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt von uns in Verkehr gebracht werden. Anschließend dürfen diese bereitgestellten Produkte, die sich dann noch in Ihren Lagern befinden, bis zum 27. Mai 2025 abverkauft werden.

Wie stellt pritidenta als Hersteller die Einhaltung der MDR sicher?

pritidenta ist dabei, ihr Qualitätsmanagementsystem und Technische Dokumentation auf die Anforderungen der MDR umzustellen und hat dafür die notwendigen personellen und finanziellen Ressourcen bereitgestellt. Die Zertifizierung unserer Produkte nach MDR werden wir fristgerecht abgeschlossen haben, sodass die Lieferung unserer Produkte jederzeit sichergestellt ist. 

Unsere Benannten Stelle, die mdc medical certification GmbH, hat bereits am 25. April 2020 die offizielle Benennung unter der Verordnung (EU) 2017/745 (MDR) erhalten und erfüllt somit in vollem Umfang die Anforderungen der MDR.

Was verlangt die MDR von Ihnen als Händler (Händlerpflichten)?

Wenn Sie Kunde von pritidenta sind und unsere Produkte weiterverkaufen nehmen Sie immer die Rolle des Händlers ein. Unter der MDR entstehen somit auch neue Pflichten für Sie, auf die wir Sie gerne aufmerksam machen möchten.

Die folgenden Pflichten gelten für Sie, solange sich das Produkt in Ihrem Verantwortungsbereich befindet. Sollten Sie Grund zur Annahme haben, dass ein Produkt nicht den Anforderungen der MDR entspricht, dürfen Sie dieses Produkt nicht auf dem Markt bereitstellen.

Überprüfung des Produkts und der Dokumente vor der Bereitstellung auf dem Markt

Diese Prüfpflichten können durch eine Stichprobenprüfung abgedeckt werden.

Sicherstellung der Lagerungs- und Transportbedingungen 

Mitwirkung bei der Marktüberwachung

Sicherstellung der Rückverfolgbarkeit

Welche Informationen stellt pritidenta in Zusammenhang mit der MDR zur Verfügung?

Sie können u.a. folgende Informationen anfordern bzw. herunterladen: 

Wo finden Sie weitere Informationen?


Noch Fragen?

Wenn Sie Hilfe oder weitere Informationen benötigen – wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter. Schicken Sie uns einfach Ihre Fragen an quality[at]pritidenta.com – wir melden uns umgehend bei Ihnen.

Verordnung

Die MDR ist eine EU-Verordnung. EU-Verordnungen (englisch „regulation“) gelten in den
Mitgliedsstaaten der EU unmittelbar und müssen nicht erst in nationales Recht (z.B. als Gesetz)
umgesetzt werden. Sie sind in allen ihren Teilen verbindlich, d.h. Anpassungen durch einzelne

Mitgliedsstaaten sind grundsätzlich nicht möglich. Verordnungen können allerdings auch einzelne
Artikel enthalten, die Anpassungen an nationales Recht zulassen. In Deutschland dient
das Medizinprodukterecht-Durchführungsgesetz (MPDG) zur Durchführung und Ergänzung der MDR.

Richtline

Die MDD ist eine EU-Richtlinie. EU-Richtlinien (englisch „directive“) sind im europäischen Recht nicht
unmittelbar wirksam, sondern müssen von den Mitgliedsstaaten der EU erst in nationales Recht
umgewandelt werden. Die MDD wurde z.B. in Deutschland durch das Medizinproduktegesetz (MPG)
umgesetzt.

Wirtschaftsakteur

Der Begriff „Wirtschaftsakteur“ (englisch: economic operator“) wurde mit der MDR neu eingeführt.
Wirtschaftakteure sind Einheiten innerhalb der Lieferkette eines Medizinprodukts. Die MDR kennt
folgende Wirtschaftsakteure:

  •  Hersteller
  •  Bevollmächtigter Vertreter
  •  Importeur
  •  Händler
  •  Inverkehrbringer von Systemen und Behandlungseinheiten

Die MDR definiert für jeden Wirtschaftsakteur bestimmte Verantwortlichkeiten und Verpflichtungen.
Die wesentlichen Pflichten für Hersteller sind in Artikel 10 der MDR geregelt. Artikel 14 MDR legt die
allgemeinen Pflichten für Händler fest.

Inverkehrbringen

 Unter der MDR die erstmalige Bereitstellung (d.h. die entgeltliche oder unentgeltliche Abgabe eines Produkts zum Vertrieb, zum Verbrauch oder zur Verwendung im Rahmen einer gewerblichen Tätigkeit) im EU-Markt. 

Beispiel: Ein europäischer Hersteller verkauft sein Produkt erstmalig an einen europäischen Händler. Der Hersteller bringt dadurch das Produkt in den Verkehr und stellt es gleichzeitig bereit. Wenn der Händler das Produkt weiterverkauft, stellt er es bereit.

Hersteller

Ein Hersteller vermarktet ein Produkt unter seinem Namen oder seiner Marke. Dabei macht es keinen Unterschied, ob er es selber herstellt oder ob er es herstellen lässt.

Händler

Ein Händler stellt ein Produkt auf dem Markt bereit, nachdem es vom Hersteller oder Importeur in Verkehr gebracht wurde. Die allgemeinen Pflichten von Händlern sind in Artikel 14 der MDR geregelt.

EUDAMED (European Database on Medical Devices)

Die europäische Datenbank für Medizinprodukte ist das von der Europäischen Kommission entwickelte IT-System zur Umsetzung der Verordnung (EU) 2017/745 über Medizinprodukte und der Verordnung (EU) 2017/746 über In-vitro-Diagnostika. EUDAMED soll die Transparenz und Koordination von Informationen über Medizinprodukte, die auf dem EU-Markt erhältlich sind, verbessern.

Das System soll als Registrierungssystem, als Kooperationssystem, als Meldesystem und als (teilweise auch für die Öffentlichkeit zugängliches) Verbreitungssystem fungieren und interoperabel sein.

Es besteht aus 6 Modulen (1. Registrierung von Wirtschaftsakteuren („Actor registration“), 2. Unique Device Identification (UDI), 3. Bescheinigungen (“Certificate”), 4. Klinische Prüfungen (“Clinical investigation”), 5. Marktüberwachung („Vigilance“), 6. Marktbeobachtung (“Market surveillance”), von denen bisher nur die Registrierung von Wirtschaftsakteuren freigeschaltet ist (seit dem 01. Dezember 2020).

Hersteller, Importeure und bevollmächtigte Vertreter müssen sich gemäß MDR in EUDAMED registrieren. Für Händler ist keine Registrierung vorgesehen.

Technische Dokumentation

Die Technische Dokumentation für Medizinprodukte umfasst alle Dokumente, die die Hersteller bereitstellen müssen, um ihre Medizinprodukte einer Konformitätsbewertung zu unterziehen und Medizinprodukte auf den Markt bringen zu dürfen. Aufbau und Inhalt sind in der MDR detailliert vorgegeben.

Kennzeichnung

Geschriebene, gedruckte oder grafisch dargestellte Informationen, die entweder auf dem Produkt selbst oder auf der Verpackung jeder Einheit oder auf der Verpackung mehrerer Produkte angebracht sind.

UDI („Unique Device Identification“):

Die UDI ist eine weltweit eindeutige Produktidentifizierungsnummer für Medizinprodukte. Sie muss in  maschinenlesbarer Form (beispielsweise Barcode) und in Klarschrift auf dem Produkt oder seinen Verpackungen aufgebracht werden.

pritidenta bringt die UDI bereits auf den Etiketten ihrer Verpackungen an und erfüllt damit die neuen MDR-Anforderungen.

Beispiel für eine UDI auf der Verpackung von pritidenta

Klassifizierung

Medizinprodukte werden in Europa aufgrund ihrer Zweckbestimmung in 4 unterschiedliche Risikoklassen eingeteilt (I, IIa, IIb, III). Die Klassifizierungsregeln sind im Anhang VIII der MDR festgelegt.

Benannte Stelle

Benannte Stellen (englisch „notified bodies“) sind in der EU staatlich benannte und staatlich überwachte private Auditier- und Zertifizierstellen, die im Auftrag der Hersteller tätig werden, um deren Konformitätsbewertung für ihre Erzeugnisse zu begleiten und zu kontrollieren. Um auch unter der MDR tätig werden zu können müssen sich die Benannten Stellen für Medizinprodukte einem umfangreichen Überprüfungsverfahren unterziehen, bevor sie neu „benannt“ werden.

Vorkommnis

Ein Vorkommnis gemäß MDR bezeichnet eine Fehlfunktion oder Verschlechterung der Eigenschaften oder Leistung eines bereits auf dem Markt bereitgestellten Produkts, einschließlich Anwendungsfehlern aufgrund ergonomischer Merkmale, sowie eine Unzulänglichkeit der vom Hersteller bereitgestellten Informationen oder eine unerwünschte Nebenwirkung.

Symbol „MD“

REF 291 Rev 000